Policies and Procedures

A0101 Western Technical College, Board Name and Legal Status

The Western Technical College District is served by the area college officially known as Western Technical College. The District was created on July 1, 1968 by the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, under the authority of the state legislature, as a postsecondary educational system for occupational education below the baccalaureate level. The District includes all or parts of the following counties: Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Trempealeau, and Vernon. The District constitutes a body corporate which possesses all the usual powers of a corporation for public purposes. As a body corporate, the District may sue and be sued, purchase, hold, and sell personal property and real estate, and enter into obligations as are authorized by law.

The official name of the Board of Directors of Western Technical College shall be the "Western Technical College District Board".

Revised January 16, 2018
Revised April 7, 2006
Reviewed June 15, 2004
Reviewed October 20, 1992
Revised April 12, 1988
Adopted September 26, 1979
Wisconsin Statute 38